Academic Session

Royal Military Academy

Royal Military Academy

Hobbemastraat 8 / Rue Hobbema 8 1000 Brussels


    • 14:30 15:00
      Arrival and registration 30m
    • 15:00 15:15
      Welcome and introduction 15m
      Speaker: Mr Thomas Dermine (Secretary of State for Science Policy)
    • 15:45 16:15
      Plans for future European astronauts 30m

      Astronaut selection and the most important missions in which these astronauts would play a role; plans for the selected astronauts; future of the ISS.

      Speaker: Mr Frank De Winne (ESAC)
    • 16:15 16:45
      Effects of space travel/space radiation on astronauts 30m

      Topics like the Space Bakery (challenge of availability of food during space exploration; research on positive impact of radiation on seeds and plants)

      Speaker: Mrs Nathalie Leys
    • 16:45 17:15
      Coffee break 30m
    • 17:15 18:15
      Panel discussion 1h

      Moderated by Koen Wauters (science journalist VRT)

      Possible topics:
      Lunar exploration: next American astronaut on the moon planned for at the earliest April 2025; what are the plans, both scientifically and technically
      Martian exploration: Plans of Elon Musk for sending humans to Mars

      Speakers: Dr Ann Carine Vandaele (Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy), Mr Charles Bolden (NASA), Mr Diego Urbina (Space Applications), Prof. Pierre Rochus (ULiège)
    • 18:15 18:30
      Wrap-up by Belgospace 15m
      Speaker: Mr Frank Preud'homme (Belgospace)
    • 18:30 20:00
      Networking drink 1h 30m